Life Lessons and Vintage Photos

I spent the better part of the last month in an academic hole, preparing for and taking my comprehensive exams (and it has already been confirmed that I passed the minor portion). In my anxiety-ridden state, I thought a lot about my Grandma. I thought about words of comfort she may have had– especially her favorite quote, “This, too, shall pass”– or life lessons that are far more worth remembering than issues in the methodologies of Andre Breton versus Georges Bataille. Since it is high time that I upload the photos I said I would in my To Grandma(s) page (which has now been updated), I would like to share some of these thoughts.

ca. 1942

Always store your photos in acid-free materials.

ca. 1930

Take some time to relax and smell the flowers.

ca. 1944

Be comfortable in your own skin– you are beautiful.

ca. 1942

Remember your friends and talk to them every chance you get.

Easter Vacation, 1958

Sometimes you just gotta get away.

ca. 1930

Dance it out.

June 1973

As Gandhi says, “The good [wo]man is the friend of all living things.”

ca. 1983

You are never too old for cartoons.

Leave a Reply

