Tragedy strikes Colorado again

Photo from Denver Comic Con

Just the other day, I posted about looking forward to the midnight premiere of the newest Batman movie, “The Dark Knight Rises,” at a local theatre in Sheridan, which is near Denver. It was not only the midnight premiere, but a screening of the entire trilogy. I was in the theatre for nearly 9 hours, and when we got out, I noticed cops were everywhere in the parking lot, but I figured they were keeping an eye out for potential drunk drivers. When we got in the car, my boyfriend had a text message from his brother asking him to contact him immediately. We thought it might have been a nasty accident on the highway, since my boyfriend works as a medical courier and his brother works as a taxi dispatcher. When I saw that Google Maps were clear of traffic on my phone, I checked the news: there was a shooting in Aurora at a midnight screening of “The Dark Knight Rises,” and at least 10 people were killed. I was numb– how could this happen? Who shoots up a movie theatre?

My boyfriend goes to film school in Aurora, and shortly after the initial shock of hearing about the shooting, we realized that we have friends who were probably at that theatre, since we all had been anticipating the release of the movie for god-knows-how-long. And sure enough, after checking Facebook and texting everyone we know in the area, we found that several had gone there in a group. They were in Theatre 8, right next door to the shooting, where some people were hit by stray bullets going through the wall. None of my friends were hurt, thank god, though I found out that two of them originally had tickets for Theatre 9 but had switched with someone so they could stay with their friends. The realization that we could have easily been there ourselves makes my stomach twist. And the news has only gotten worse since then: 12 people were killed and 58 were injured.

I had been planning on posting a review of the movie here on my blog, but in light of the recent tragic events, I am going to hold off for a while (plus, I doubt many people are going to want to go to the movies this weekend anyway. I know I have had my fill of theatres for a while and am never going to a midnight premiere again). Please send good thoughts/prayers/vibes in a Colorado-wardly direction, and tell everyone you care about that you love them.

2 thoughts on “Tragedy strikes Colorado again

  1. Wow, just wow. I’m glad that you and your friends were all ok and my heart goes out to those who are hurt and the families of the dead. Reading this made my stomach ache, I could not imagine how scary that was.

    • It’s been pretty unreal here in Colorado over the last few days. It seems like everyone knew someone who was at the theatre: my coworker knew someone who was shot (and survived, thank god), and another person who managed to make it out safely but was covered in blood. And the sister of one of my best friends was supposed to be at the screening in theatre 9 but had to back out at the last minute. One of her friends was killed. The news is almost nothing but coverage of this massacre– everyone just wants answers.
      Thank you for your kind thoughts. Something like this definitely makes you count your lucky stars.

Leave a Reply

