Blogging as a cure for procrastination

Confession: I am the world’s worst selective-procrastinator. I don’t slack on the BIG stuff, but I may have had an oil leak go unfixed for 3 months, maybe 4; I’m still counting because I haven’t gotten it fixed yet. Online bill-pay is my best friend because I wait until the last hours before bills are due. I didn’t clean my apartment for 3 months during my first semester of grad school. I have decided to donate 10.5 inches of hair to Locks of Love in August because I didn’t feel like getting more than one haircut this past year. Most of these egregious acts of slacking can be attributed to my own forgetfulness that has clouded my mind since starting school.

For some people, blogging itself is a form of procrastination: it keeps you on the computer and away from other things like cleaning and “actual work,” and I would be downright lying if I said that I haven’t used this blog to avoid doing other things. However, it is also my primary source of motivation to get through everything I have to do this summer, especially studying and making stuff to donate. It is remarkably helpful having people “like” my posts or start following my blog because it makes me want to post more. If I don’t feel like doing more reading for comps, I write a post about another book that I recently finished or a project I am working on, and somehow I end up writing more than I ever thought I could for one thing.

That said, I have been procrastinating with my book review-blogging this week (and anything not having to do with baby hats, if I’m completely honest with myself). I have been reading, and arguably, I have a couple very good reasons for falling behind with my review-posts. However, it is now mid-June and I have only read 6 books and have only posted about 3. The shame, the shame. How do I cure this? Blog about what I need to do! Why? Because it creates a sense of expectation for me: even if no one reads this post, I expect me to come through. So here is what you can expect to see from me this weekend:

  • Book review of The Genres and Genders of Surrealism by Annette Shandler Levitt Done 6/17/12
  • Book review of Surrealism, Feminism, Psychoanalysis by Natalya Lusty Done 6/22/12 (better late than never!)
  • Book review of Story of the Eye by Georges Bataille Done 6/16/12
  • Essay reviews of selected works from Independent Spirits: Women Painters of the American West, ed. Patricia Trenton Done 6/18/12
  • Cinema on Etsy #2 (Amelie) Done 6/16/12

When I am not blogging, I hope to WILL read Arcanum 17 by Andre Breton and Insel by Mina Loy. The books are due in a couple weeks, which is motivation enough because I don’t do late fees. (Update: Neither of these happened, but I guess I got too ambitious anyway, thinking I could do 4 reviews in one weekend when I had just finished one book– Story of the Eye— and had not yet finished another– Surrealism, Feminism, Psychoanalysis).

Thank you everyone for your views and support as I drag myself through the rest of grad school!

Leave a Reply

